Home

Skip to main content
Mobile Menu
Please Create A Marquee

Athletic Department

Welcome to Demon Athletics!

Office hours are school days Monday-Friday from 10am to 1pm
or by appointment. Please call: 259-1630 x 2302
 
In addition to our rigorous academics, DHS offers students dozens of athletic, extracurricular, and co curricular activities so that every student may explore their interests. 
 
All athletes and activity participants must be registered and complete the registration process with the Athletics Office before their first practice. Go to ArbiterAthlete.com. All athletics and Marching Band require a signed doctor's physical. Please refer to the Kick-Off letter and FAQ documents below. If you get stuck, please call the Customer Support line at Arbiter at 888-668-7452 or send an email to schoolsupport@arbiterathlete.com.
  
There is a Participation Fee for the following activities at Durango High School: All sports (except Alpine and Nordic Ski) DECA, FFA, Instrumental Music, Knowledge Bowl, SkillsUSA, Speech and Debate, Vocal Music, and Student Council. Alpine and Nordic skiers will be charged $150 registration fee due to the increased expenses of skiing a CO resorts in peak season and the travel associated with that schedule. Athletes/Activity participants should be prepared to pay the fee as the final step in the online registration process at arbiterathlete.com. Students will not be eligible for participation until the registration process is complete. 
 
Mandatory Parent/Athlete Sport Season kick-off meetings are part of the Head Coach's pre-season mandatory team meetings.See the coach for details on times and location
 
All athletes are required to complete a baseline concussion test before their first practice.
 
Activities (DECA, FFA, Orchestra, Choir, Knowledge Bowl, SkillsUSA, Speech and Debate, Student Council, Theatre, Concert Band) do not require a physical, but these activities do require the signature page at the back of the Athletics and Activities Code of Conduct and the White Card registration page
 
New Athletics Schedule site. This site is hosted by ArbiterSports and is free to view. You may choose to subscribe to through this site to get notifications of updates to the schedule
 
Lettermen jackets: we suggest (but do not officially endorse) contacting KMD Active Wear in Farmington. 505-327-7812
 
 
 
Looking for directions to any high school in Colorado? Click here.
 
DHS Athletics Staff:
 
Athletics & Activities Director
Ryan Knorr
(970) 259-1630
 
Athletics & Activities Assistant
Ann Duft
(970) 259-1630
 
COACH CONTACT INFORMATION
 
FALL SPORTS
Boys Golf
Coach: Kirk Rawles
Contact: krawles@durangoschools.org

Boys Soccer
Coach: Aaron Champenoy
Contact: achampenoy@durangoschools.org

Boys Tennis
Coach: Todd Jolley
contact: tjolley@durangoschools.org

Cross Country
Coach: Ken Flint
Contact: kflint@durangoschools.org

Football
Coach: David Vogt
Contact: dvogt@durangoschools.org

Softball
Coach: John Bernazzani
contact: jbernazzani@durangoschools.org

Volleyball
Coach: Colleen Vogt
Contact: cvogt@durangoschools.org

Cheerleading
Coach: Marcia Hoerl
Contact: mhoerl@durangoschools.org

Dance
Coach: Jackie Herring
Contact: jherring@durangoschools.org
 
Marching Band:
Director: Alex Finley
 
 
WINTER SPORTS
Boys Basketball:
Coach: Alan Batiste
Contact: abatiste@durangoschools.org

Girls Basketball:
Coach: Tim Fitzpatrick
Contact: tfitzpat@durangoschools.org

Girls Swimming
Coach: Tom Joyner
Contact: tjoyner@durangoschools.org

Wrestling
Coach: Open
Contact:

Alpine Ski
Coach: Leah LeSage
Contact: llesage@durangoschools.org
 
SPRING SPORTS
Track
Coach: Johnny Bertrand
Contact: jbertrand@durangoschools.org

Baseball
Coach: Eric Baker
Contact: kebaker@durangoschools.org

Girls Soccer
Coach: Open
Contact:

Boys Swimming
Coach: Tom Joyner
Contact: tjoyner@durangoschools.org

Girls Golf
Coach: Kirk Rawles
Contact: krawles@durangoschools.org

Girls Tennis
Coach: Darren Tarshis
Contact: dtarshis@durangoschools.org

Boys Lacrosse
Coach: Open
Contact:

Girls Lacrosse
Coach: Natalie Mitchell
Contact: nmitchell@durangoschools.org